Religious Question: Monday 28 February

At the end of last week a friend from Christchurch (after the earthquake) wrote:
Where has your God been the last few days?
If the question was directed to you, how would you have replied?

This entry was posted in Perspectives of God, Society and Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Religious Question: Monday 28 February

  1. dawn says:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that my God can be vastly different from your God. It seems the person was wondering more; where is the divine intervention to prevent or minimize this destruction and loss of life? And that question will vary by each person, based on their beliefs.
    One person may say that God was always there, waiting for you to call out and draw nearer. Another may say that God turned away and this is the result. And still others will come up with varying opinions. Ultimately, I don’t think it is about where your God is, but where is my God and is there a God to claim as your own?

    • peddiebill says:

      I find myself wanting to agree. But does this raise another question? If we all have different Gods in mind when we talk about our God, are all the images equally helpful to the human condition… and if it comes to that do all the images
      help us envisage a God that goes with the way things really are? Or should we just make it up? Who was it who said….”Man cannot make a worm – yet we make Gods by the dozen”

  2. I think I would have pointed to the persons who gave aid to the injured. God was there responding to the disaster in and through their acts of compassion.

  3. think says:

    I had read your article but there is big confusion about many thing i want you to make it clear for me if that possible

    If Jesus is the son of the GOD why he did not tell us about him ?

    if the GOD has a son that’s mean he has father and mother who are they?

    Jesus is a male that’s mean the GOD love male sons. Why he didn’t have many male sons?

    Regarding the Blessed Virgin Mary Mother of
    Jesus

    What religion did she follow during the period of her life?

    What is the period that experienced after the lifting of Christ?

    ? where was she buried

    What are the prayers of the Virgin Mary before Christ and after?

    About Jesus

    When Judas died, who stood for Christ and whether there is a grave for him even inferred for crucifixion?

    Did the Jews persecute the Christians after the Ascension of Christ and what are the events that took place?

    THANK I HOPE THAT I WILL FIND THE ANSWER FOR
    ALL MY QUETIONS

    • peddiebill says:

      Some of your questions are too difficult for me to give good answers. Perhaps one of the other visitors to the site can help. Hoever perhaps I might try to start answering.

      First although we call Jesus Son of God, in the gospels he seemed to prefer people to call him,son of man. The difficulty is that much of the stuff we now think we know about Jesus was worked out later. For example what we call the Trinity and what is meant by the Trinity is not in the Bible – it was worked out by wise people trying as best they could to sort out what they thought they knew. There are lots of people who say they know about God but if you listen carefully you might notice they have got different ideas.
      I dont know why there was only one like Jesus, but since he said lots of wise things and we havent got round to doing all of them yet eg we are still not very good at forgiving our enemies and loving our neighbours, so I guess one Jesus is all we really need to follow.
      When it comes to Mary, there is very little about her in the bible. I can guess she was a Jew, because Jesus was a Jew, so that is probably the religion she followed. However I have no idea where she or Judas finished up being buried. In those days they didnt mark most of the tombs so we dont know where most people are buried.
      I dont know if this helps but Im sure someone will know some of the answers.

  4. THINK says:

    THANK YOU peddiebill for your honest answer.
    well , I am wondering about Contradiction in your answer .

    Jesus was God-incarnate, full man and full God. Can the finite and the infinite be one? “To be full” God means freedom from finite forms and from helplessness, and to be “full man” means the absence of divinity.
    1.To be son is to be less than divine and to be divine is to be no one’s son. How could Jesus have the attributes of sonship and divinity altogether?
    2.Christians assert that Jesus claimed to be God when they quote him in John 14:9: “He that has seen me has seen the Father”. Didn’t Jesus clearly say that people have never seen God, as it says in John 5:37: “And the father himself which has sent me, has borne witness of me. You have NEITHER HEARD HIS VOICE
    AT ANY TIME NOR SEEN HIS SHAPE”?
    3.Jesus was God because he was called Son of God, Son of Man, Messiah, and “saviour”. Ezekiel was addressed in the Bible as Son of Man. Jesus spoke of “the peace makers” as Sons of God. Any person who followed the Will and Plan of God was called SON OF GOD in the Jewish tradition and in their language (Genesis 6:2,4; Exodus 4:22; Psalm 2:7; Romans 8:14). “Messiah” which in Hebrew means
    “God’s anointed” and not “Christ”, and “Cyrus” the person is called “Messiah” or “the anointed”. As for “saviour”, in II KINGS 13:5, other individuals were given that title too without being gods. So where is the proof in these terms that Jesus was God when the word son is not exclusively used for him alone?
    4.Christians claim that Jesus acknowledged that he and God were one in the sense of nature when he says in John 10:30 “I and my father are one”. Later on in John 17:21-23, Jesus refers to his followers and himself and God as one in five places. So why did they give the previous “one” a different meaning from the other five “ones”?
    5.Is God three-in-one and one in three simultaneously or one at a time?
    6.If God is one and three simultaneously, then none of the three could be the complete God. Granting that such was the case, then when Jesus was on earth, he wasn’t a complete God, nor was the “father in Heaven” a whole God. Doesn’t that contradict what Jesus always said about His God and our God in heaven, his Lord and our Lord ? Does that also mean that there was no complete god then, between the claimed crucifixion and the claimed resurrection?
    7.If God is one and three at a time, then who was the God in heaven when Jesus was on earth? Wouldn’t this contradict his many references to a God in Heaven that sent him?
    8.If God is three and one at the same time, who was the God in Heaven within three days between the claimed crucifixion and the claimed resurrect ion?
    9. “The Father(F) is God, the Son(S) is God, and the Holy Ghost(H) is God, but the Father is not the Son, the Son is not the Holy Ghost, and the Holy Ghost is not the Father”. In simple arithmetic and terms therefore, if F = G, S = G, and H = G, then it follows that F = S = H, while the second part of the
    statement suggests that F ¹ S ¹ H (meaning, “not equal”). Isn’t that a contradiction to the Christian dogma of Trinity in itself ?
    10.If Jesus was God, why did he tell the man who called him “good master” not to call him “good” because accordingly, there is none good but his God in Heaven alone?
    11.Why do Christians say that God is three-in-one and one in three when Jesus says in Mark 12:29: “The Lord our God is one Lord” in as many places as yet in the Bible?
    12.If belief in the Trinity was such a necessary condition for being a Christian, why didn’t Jesus teach and emphasize it to the Christians during his time? How were those followers of Jesus considered Christians without ever hearing the term Trinity? Had the Trinity been the spinal cord of Christianity, Jesus would have emphasized it on many occasions and would have taught and explained it in detail to the people.
    13.Christians claim that Jesus was God as they quote in John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God”. This is John speaking and not Jesus. Also, the Greek word for the first occurrence of God is HOTHEOS which means “the God” or “God” with a capital “G”, while the Greek word
    for its second occurrence is “TONTHEOS”, which means “a god ” or “god” with a small “g”. Isn’t this dishonesty and inconsistency on the part of those translating the Greek Bible? ? Isn’t such quotation in John 1:1 recognized by every Christian scholar of the Bible to have been written by a Jew named Philo Alexandria way before Jesus and John?
    14.Wasn’t the word “god” or “TONTHEOS” also used to refer to others as well as in II Corinthians 4:4 “(and the Devil is) the god of this world” and in Exodus 7:1 “See , I have made thee (Moses ) a god to Pharaoh”?
    plz explain .
    thank you

    • peddiebill says:

      My problem in giving you an answer is that I dont want to just tell you what I know is the standard Church answer and instead prefer to tell you what I suspect is true. The way Jesus is described in the Bible was partly worked out by people writng several years afterwards, and in many cases struggling to put into words what they were trying to say about someone who was hard to describe. Some bits – like for example the last few verses of the gospel of Mark got added by someone else years later. We know that because the earlier versions of Mark did not have those verses. Others like Paul had not even met Jesus and were simply doing their best to explain. For that reason perhaps it isnt always the best to insist that we must always stick to the original words. Can I suggest you read my essay which I have called Shaping God which is also on this site. Then you will see what I mean about the apparent contradictions we meet in the Bible. Sorry this isnt a complete answer to all the points you have raised. I am sure some of the other visitors to the site will be able to give you a better answer.

  5. THINK says:

    WELL , YOU ARE STILL DON’T ANSWERING MY QUESTION AT ALL . OK , LET ME MAKE IT EASY FOR U.
    OK, FIRST OF ALL WE MUST THINKING BY OUR BRAINS .EX: WHEN YOU DO SOMTHING YOU DO IT B COZ YOU ARE BELEIVE IT’S THE RIGHT THING ,SO HOW COULD YOU TRUST IN SOMTHING THAT IS NOT THE WORDS FROM GOD , BY OTHER WORDS BASED ON THE HISTORY YOU SAID : what we call the Trinity and what is meant by the Trinity is not in the Bible – it was worked out by wise people trying as best they could to sort out what they thought they knew.
    SO, NON OF THESE wise people AS YOU MENTIONED HAD SEEN (Jesus) BUT THEY JUST HEARED ABOUT HIM.
    DO YOU accept THAT THE wise people WILL KNOW EVERY THING ABOUT (Jesus) HOW COULD YOU KNOW THEY WROTE THE WRITE THING OR JUST B COZ THEY ARE WISE PEOPLE. IF THAT SO THEN EVERY WISE MAN CAN WRITE A Religion AND SAYS THIS IS FROM GOD.
    AND THE BIG BIG QUESTION : (Jesus) IF HE IS THE GOD HE SHOULD KNOW THAT THE BIBLE MUST BE KEPT FROM CHANGE , B COZ HE KNOWS THAT JEWS WILL REFUSE (Jesus) AS ANEW RELIGION SO THAT HE JUST DEPENDED ON SOME wise people(ORDINARYpeople…..NO SUPER POWER) TO KEEP THE (BIBLE) FROM CHANGE .
    I WANT YOU TO THINK AND USE YOUR BRAIN FOR MOMENT AND THINK
    WHY:
    1-Original text written by the author missing
    2-The Book of GOD can not contain scientific errors or contradictions, and where they contain a lot of scientific errors and contradictions, it also indicates that it was not the words of GOD
    3-Between each other Gospels the Gospel (Matthew, Luke, John, Mark) There are many contradictions AS I POSTED.
    If the book was written by people who are marketers of God the Holy Spirit, why is this decline?
    4-There are texts of the Bible witness of Distortion (change of script)

    YOU KNOW , THERE MUST BE SOMETHING RATIONAL FOR OUR BELIEVES .
    JUST ASK YOUR SELF .
    THANK YOU

    • peddiebill says:

      As I stated before, if you read my extended essay on the topic: Shaping God you will get a clearer idea of why I think the way I
      do. It is not easy for me to work out what you want of me from what you have written. I have explained in the essay how I believe the contradictions in the Bible came about, and how the Bible came to be put together. I have no wish to change what I think unless I can see reason to do so. In order for you to convince me that my reasoning is wrong – or as you seem to be saying – not using my brain, please read what I have written first. Then if I have made mistakes you can show me what they are – and what the evidence is for changing what I have written. I certainly dont believe all that is in the Bible should tell us what to do today, otherwise I would have to spend most of my day stoning people to death for Old Testament crimes like shaving your sideboards, wearing clothes made of more than one type of fibre, eating shellfish, eating bacon, carrying wood on the Sabbath etc
      I dont think that applies anymore and if it does I dont want anything to do with it. As the Bible was not even all written while Jesus was around, I imagine he never said that it would not be able to change.

  6. THINK says:

    I DON’T THINK MY LANGUAGE MADE YOU THING THAT I ENFORCE YOU TO CHANGE WHAT YOU THING. IT IS JUST RATIONAL QUESTIONS CAME TO MY MIND AND I AM TRYING TO UNDER STAND THIS MESSY.
    I READ YOUR ARTICLE , AND I THINK WE AGREE ON :
    1- THERE IS CHANGE IN ALL BIBLE VERSIONS.
    2- THE BIBLE IS NOT SUITABLE OR CAN’T APPLY FOR MODERN LIFE.BY OTHER WORDS Bible are no longer relevant to our contemporary situation.
    3-THERE ARE MANY VERSIONS OF BIBLE AND YOU CAN DEPEND ON 3 OF THESE VERSIONS AT THE SAME TIME THERE ARE BIG CHANGE AND BIG DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THESE VERSIONS.
    YOU KNOW, WE WILL APPLY YOUR CONCEPTS ABOUT BIBLE ON BASIC THINGS EX: IF YOU WANT TO BUILD A TOWER OR HOUSE FIRST THING YOU NEED IS THE MAP OF THE THING THAT YOU WANT TO BUILD AT THAT TIME
    YOU HAVE MANY MAPS (VERSIONS OF BIBLE) AND YOU DECIDED TO PICK UP ONLY THREE MAPS THAT YOU MAY FIND IT CORRECT, BUT AT THE END YOU FIND OUT THAT WHO WROTE THAT MAPS ARE NOT ENGINEERS THEY ARE JUST PEOPLE MIGHT KNOW LITTLE BIT ABOUT ENGINEERING. BUT SOME ONE TILL YOU THAT YOU MIGHT BE WRONG BUT YOU DIDN’T PAY ATTENTION COZ YOU BELIEVE IT IS RIGHT. BUT,AT THE END IF YOU APPLY THIS MAP ON YOUR BUILDING IT WILL FALL DOWN. AT THAT TIME YOU WILL THING THAT YOU FIND THAT YOU DON’T HAVE A BASE THAT YOU WANT BUILD YOUR BUILDING ON .
    I HAVE SMALL QUESTION IN OLD DAYS DID THEY HAVE WATCHES B COZ I SAW MANY SCRIPTS IN BIBLE SAYS (3PM) 8 PM WHO THAT POSSIBLE . CAN YOU ANSWER ME ON MY QUESTIONS SIMPLY?
    THANK YOU

    • peddiebill says:

      Sorry it has taken me so long to realise what is going on with your unusual posts. What gave you away was going into capital letters for the parts with strange spelling and grammar – and using more conventional English in other places which didnt sound like you at all. When I looked up the paragraphs that were better written I found they were lifted from the Mission Islam website as part of their questions addressed to “dear Christian”! If you wanted to convert me to Islam why didnt you simply say so? Since most of the points you raised are not yours there is no way I can really know which genuine questions puzzle you and therefore it would probably be better to stop the discussion with you. Sorry I was so stupid not to catch on after the first set of questions you raised… I can only plead that I was tired at the time. If I can be so bold as to suggest that since you call yourself
      THINK that you should try to do your own thinking for yourself. If you let another website (Mission Islam) do your thinking for you, you run the risk of having people like me think that to follow Islam is to give up your integrity which I dont think you really want to be your message. As to your question about watches – try primitive sundials.

  7. THINK says:

    Well, thank you for Compliment. I want to tell you even my language is poor that’s not giving a sense that you avoid answering my questions, whatever their source (Mission Islam) or whatever. However, yes I am a Moslem, I was Christian, but I converted to islam because I found Christianity is not complete religion and this religion based on some people wrote unreal books, and they want people to follow them to make religion. Religion supported by theories and theoretic is false religion. Ok, about watches – try primitive sundials, you mean after 1500yrs or 300yrs that wise people who wrote the bible they just went back with time machine and use primitive sundials and went back. Again to write the time, they mentioned 3 pm, 8pm. Who could you believe that? Is the bible holy book?for me as Moslem I believe in (Gospel) but not this one because 99% of it was changed. However, you are convinced it was changed, and you still think it is the right. ALLAH what you call (Jesus ) is different you believe ALLAH can’t be a human Issa (Jesus ) we believe is just a messenger from ALLAH to guide us to worship ALLAH one GOD only one (no son, no Daughter, no wife ) only one that nothing can be like him. You have to free your mind and don’t refuse another opinion even it is wrong as you see it. I am still waiting for your answers about my questions or just say that you can’t find an answer.

  8. peddiebill says:

    I am puzzled why you think that Islam is somehow free from distortions of truth. However let us check. But first I have to know which of the 73 versions of the Muslim faith is the correct one? Is it the twelvers in the Shia, or perhaps Osama bin Laden’s lot or maybe the Saudi Arabian version of the Sunni or should I turn to the Sufi for enlightenment? I am certain the other day that I read a verse in the Kur’an which forbade divisions. Surely you are not suggesting that Muslims have just as much trouble sorting out which bits of the Koran to follow as Christians do with the Bible. Certainly they do not all see one another as the one true group of followers which presumably is why they attack one another’s religious ceremonies with suicide bombs. Other puzzles for me. If the Qur’an or the Bible is truth enough by itself how come both Holy books say nothing useful about modern problems like ethics in international trade, bioethics, nuclear weapons, the arms trade etc. What does your truth tell you about freedom of modern education for women – some Muslims say it is unnecessary (and in Afghanistan they have even bombed girls schools). What does your truth tell you about how to treat a Muslim who converts to Christianity. Some Muslims think it is unfortunate but OK, some tell me the convert has to be killed. How representative is the Pew Research data on Pakistan where a majority are reported as favouring homour killings and killing converts to Christianity. The main reason why I have no wish to convert to Islam is because the range of beliefs I see amongst Muslims looks awfully like the range I encounter in Christianity where I can still find enough who like ideas of love and forgiveness to keep me happy. If you want to attract me to Islam show me caring and compassion and truth. Tell me that you dont believe in honour killings and dont like the idea of suicide bombers. Dont try to pretend someone elses questions are yours because that only damages your chance of convincing me that what you say can be relied on as truth.

Leave a Reply

